Geekzone: technology news, blogs, forums
Guest
Welcome Guest.
You haven't logged in yet. If you don't have an account you can register now.



689 posts

Ultimate Geek


Topic # 108919 8-Sep-2012 17:07 Send private message

Am looking at purchasing a projector and I came across these guys, their site looks authentic enough and they accept paypal etc. But their prices, especially for the projector I am keen on are insanely low. Like $2k cheaper than Rapalloav.

Wondering if anyone had used them at all?

Create new topic
539 posts

Ultimate Geek

Trusted

  Reply # 683169 8-Sep-2012 18:19 Send private message

They don't seem to have the best reputation - can't seem to access their website, but they sound like they are drop-shipping their product from Hong Kong.

Here's a relevant thread on the Whirlpool forums (which sometimes I like to think of as the Aussie Geekzone): http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1094235



689 posts

Ultimate Geek


  Reply # 683177 8-Sep-2012 18:54 Send private message

Wow, thanks for the link mate. Won't be going anywhere near them. Appreciate that.

mjb

902 posts

Ultimate Geek

Trusted
Subscriber

  Reply # 683183 8-Sep-2012 19:01 Send private message

KevinL: .... the Whirlpool forums (which sometimes I like to think of as the Aussie Geekzone)


No way, that's Austech.

edit: but yes, whirlpool is a great resource too.




contentsofsignaturemaysettleduringshipping

2 posts

Wannabe Geek


  Reply # 694434 1-Oct-2012 18:43 One person supports this post Send private message

Hi,
I just ordered a Nikon 3200 at electronicbazaar.co.nz and received the camera but only after paying an invoice of customs, tried contacting electronicbazaar.co.nz but nobody home of course this shop is just a big scam and I recommend NOT to buy from these cowboys.
electronicbazaar.co.nz and electroniscbazaar.com.au are one and the same and is just one big scam. BEWARE. Goods are just shipped from Hong Kong so you won't have NZ warranty either, they did provide me with an invoice which states includes GST well not really. I also have informed the IRD of this and they told me they will look into this company

10100111001
3177 posts

Uber Geek

Trusted
Subscriber

  Reply # 694453 1-Oct-2012 19:25 Send private message

themarcopolo: Hi,
I just ordered a Nikon 3200 at electronicbazaar.co.nz and received the camera but only after paying an invoice of customs, tried contacting electronicbazaar.co.nz but nobody home of course this shop is just a big scam and I recommend NOT to buy from these cowboys.
electronicbazaar.co.nz and electroniscbazaar.com.au are one and the same and is just one big scam. BEWARE. Goods are just shipped from Hong Kong so you won't have NZ warranty either, they did provide me with an invoice which states includes GST well not really. I also have informed the IRD of this and they told me they will look into this company


you will get hit with customs charges from most importers if you buy stuff worth over a certain amount.  that's normal.

The GST included invoice - did it say NZ GST, or Hong Kong GST?

Buying from overseas can be complicated and most people don't realise that.  The overseas merchant isn't responsible for the tax payments, that's up to you as importer.

If you don't want to be an 'importer', then buy from a local company and you wont have the 'hassle'.  Of course you will pay more though.

As for warranty, its pretty common to get no NZ warranty for overseas shipped goods.  In fact you wont get a NZ warranty for parallel imported goods bought from a parallel importer shop either - you just get a drop-off point.




Need help implementing Microsoft CRM? Give OA Systems a shout. 
Winners of CRM Solution of the Year at the 2010 Microsoft NZ Partner Awards

2 posts

Wannabe Geek


  Reply # 694458 1-Oct-2012 19:42 Send private message

I understand that you get hit by GST if you order overseas, but if it is not clear that you oder overseas and pay into a NZ bank account and the company has a NZ phonenumber and even offers pick ups at their shop why would I think this is an overseas company?

1800 posts

Uber Geek

Subscriber

  Reply # 694530 1-Oct-2012 21:41 Send private message

If it seems to good to be true, it probably is?

1800 posts

Uber Geek

Subscriber

  Reply # 694537 1-Oct-2012 21:57 Send private message

Oh yeah, put ValueBasket and Simply Electronics into the same category.
Avoid, avoid, and then, just for the heck of it, avoid.

23 posts

Geek


  Reply # 784525 20-Mar-2013 15:17 Send private message

People need to be aware that this business Electronic Bazaar is not good to deal with.

They portray that they are NZ based, with NZ domain, NZ email, NZ bank account, NZ phone number, but they are not resident in NZ. Also, they take your money, and then delay the delivery. They lead you to believe it is in stock, with 2-3 days delivery, but then after they have your money you can be waiting weeks for it to come from somewhere. When you complain, he is short and gruff on the phone, and doesn't seem to care that he has your money, and you have no idea where your order is. He even hung up on me.

As a note, he took my money more than a week ago, and the delivery is still unknown.Avoid them.
Grant.


80 posts

Master Geek


  Reply # 784986 21-Mar-2013 14:11 Send private message

grantcoll: People need to be aware that this business Electronic Bazaar is not good to deal with.

They portray that they are NZ based, with NZ domain, NZ email, NZ bank account, NZ phone number, but they are not resident in NZ. Also, they take your money, and then delay the delivery. They lead you to believe it is in stock, with 2-3 days delivery, but then after they have your money you can be waiting weeks for it to come from somewhere. When you complain, he is short and gruff on the phone, and doesn't seem to care that he has your money, and you have no idea where your order is. He even hung up on me.

As a note, he took my money more than a week ago, and the delivery is still unknown.Avoid them.
Grant.



Im really concerned about these online electronic shopping sites popping up under different names constantly. They close down under one name and open up under a new one when found out! I know of one that trades under three separate names, they say they are in NZ and we know they are not.

People take care please!!!!!!


1800 posts

Uber Geek

Subscriber

  Reply # 785276 22-Mar-2013 00:07 Send private message

Am I correct in saying that one of those sites (with numerous names) is known to sponsor a NZ based tech site?

12 posts

Geek


  Reply # 788229 27-Mar-2013 20:41 Send private message

After a month of them failing to ship a camera I had the Bank reverse the credit card transaction.

There are parallel importers in NZ with store fronts which you are better off using.

80 posts

Master Geek


  Reply # 788255 27-Mar-2013 21:22 Send private message

Nasty-One: After a month of them failing to ship a camera I had the Bank reverse the credit card transaction.

There are parallel importers in NZ with store fronts which you are better off using.


Terrible!!!!

23 posts

Geek


  Reply # 795289 8-Apr-2013 22:06 Send private message

I have found that this company Electronic Bazaar also masquerade as a NZ company under another name, Top End Electronics, but they are the same company. Avoid electronicbazaar.co.nz and topendelectronics.co.nz

Create new topic



Twitter »
Follow us to receive Twitter updates when new discussions are posted in our forums:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when news items and blogs are posted in our frontpage:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when new jobs are posted to our jobs board:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when tech item prices are listed in our price comparison site:




News »

Trending now »
Hot discussions in our forums right now:

Fecked up religious people strike again :-(
Created by Mark, last reply by freitasm on 25-May-2013 08:44 (85 replies)
Pages... 4 5 6


Cannabis is illegal yet we have really strong 'legal highs' ?
Created by qwerty7, last reply by freitasm on 23-May-2013 23:20 (74 replies)
Pages... 3 4 5


A new project coming to Geekzone
Created by freitasm, last reply by l43a2 on 24-May-2013 23:02 (342 replies)
Pages... 21 22 23


Xbox One
Created by DjShadow, last reply by nathan on 25-May-2013 22:40 (75 replies)
Pages... 3 4 5


HTC One (2013) owners' discussion
Created by Dingbatt, last reply by mrgsm021 on 25-May-2013 14:30 (1567 replies)
Pages... 103 104 105


Monolithic Cement Sheet cladding mid 80s house - "leaky home" or not?
Created by joker97, last reply by mattwnz on 24-May-2013 23:46 (15 replies)

Orcon, Is this for real or a scam??
Created by old3eyes, last reply by DarthKermit on 22-May-2013 19:12 (29 replies)
Pages... 2


Entire house HTPC concept
Created by InfiniteLoop, last reply by darthmeow on 24-May-2013 12:19 (26 replies)
Pages... 2



Geekzone Jobs »
Most recent NZ jobs in technology:

Developer of interactive experiences
Posted 25-May-2013 21:28

Ambitious Project Coordinator
Posted 25-May-2013 19:28

Ambitious Project Coordinator
Posted 25-May-2013 19:28

Exceptional Senior Project Manager
Posted 25-May-2013 19:28

Multitalented Business Analyst
Posted 25-May-2013 18:28

Communicative Test Manager
Posted 25-May-2013 17:28

Flexible Test Manager
Posted 25-May-2013 17:28


Geekzone Live »
Try automatic live updates from Geekzone directly in your browser, without refreshing the page, with Geekzone Live now.

Are you subscribed to our RSS feed? You can download the latest headlines and summaries from our stories directly to your computer or smartphone by using a feed reader.

Alternatively, you can receive a daily email with Geekzone updates.