that's what i read from this thread
I don't think there was any complaint that telecom were ending the 'free ride'. the complaint was that the flickr account was going to be deleted, along with any photos history and nickname etc, because there seemed to be no way to transfer it to another yahoo id: when you tried to transfer, as suggested, you got the error message stating "Yahoo! Broadband Partner users are not authorized to transfer their Flickr account to another Yahoo! ID"
As it turns out, sending an enquiry through to the flickr staff via the web form is the way forward. They manually detach your flickr account from telecom/xtra so that you can continue to pay for it yourself and don't have to lose everything.
The OP is happy that this is now resolved, coincidentally i'm also happy as I didn't even know I was about to lose my flickr account till I saw this thread...