Geekzone: technology news, blogs, forums
Guest
Welcome Guest.
You haven't logged in yet. If you don't have an account you can register now.




1956 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 19

Trusted
Subscriber

Topic # 113029 3-Jan-2013 08:25 Send private message

How do I ensure my personal credentials, i.e. Apple ID, purchases and the associated credit card are completely removed from a Mountain Lion install?

Filter this topic showing only the reply marked as answer Create new topic
Professional yak shaver
1563 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 4

Trusted
BitSignal
Subscriber

  Reply # 739579 3-Jan-2013 08:30 Send private message

Deleting the user is your best bet.




"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads." - Doc Emmet Brown



1956 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 19

Trusted
Subscriber

  Reply # 739582 3-Jan-2013 08:34 Send private message

On a new install of Mountain Lion it didn't have any existing users. I created a new user "Mac" with no details, however, the operating system itself was installed with my Apple ID, is that completely deleted after installation?

3073 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 354

Trusted
Subscriber

  Reply # 739584 3-Jan-2013 08:43 Send private message






3934 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 175

Trusted
Subscriber

  Reply # 739585 3-Jan-2013 08:51 Send private message

The Apple ID is only used to verify the licence during installation and isn't stored after that.

The best way to "tidy up" a fresh installation is convoluted because you can't delete the last remaining user from inside the GUI. You don't absolutely have to do this, but if you want the system to boot to the original Setup Assistant then here's how you do it:

Edit: Step 0: Deauthorise your iTunes account if you haven't already! It's done by hardware serial number so you can still do this after reformatting if you forgot about it.

1. Boot into single-user mode by holding Cmd-S at the chime.
2. When prompted, type "/sbin/fsck -fy" and "/sbin/mount -uw /" as requested.
3. Type the following commands.

launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.opendirectoryd.plist
dscl . -list /groups GroupMembership | grep Mac

You may get an error (which can be ignored) but should get a list of groups that the user "Mac" is a member of.

4. Remove the user from each group by typing this command for each group:

dscl . delete /groups/GROUPNAME GroupMembership Mac (you may get another error which can be ignored)

5. Clean up the user account:

dscl . delete /groups/Mac (this one may not exist)
dscl . delete /users/Mac
rm /private/var/db/dslocal/nodes/Default/users/Mac.plist (this may also not exist)
rm -rf /Users/Mac

6. Finally, restore the Setup Assistant and reboot:

rm /private/var/db/.AppleSetupDone
reboot

7. Once the system comes back up, it should boot into the Setup Assistant. Press Cmd-Q and select to shut down. It'll continue to boot into the Assistant, just like a brand-new machine :)



1956 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 19

Trusted
Subscriber

  Reply # 739590 3-Jan-2013 09:11 Send private message

nakedmolerat: this is what I did before selling my laptop recently:

http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/76194/how-can-i-delete-everything-from-my-macbook-pro-before-selling-it


The article implies that the Apple ID could be recovered?

"could undelete that one file and recover the Apple ID email you used"

With my limited Mac knowledge, I'm unable to implement the counter measure, "you could boot into recovery after the OS was installed and wipe the free space using Disk Utility". After install I can not see where the "free space" would be?


3934 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 175

Trusted
Subscriber

  Reply # 739595 3-Jan-2013 09:18 Send private message

lyonrouge: With my limited Mac knowledge, I'm unable to implement the counter measure, "you could boot into recovery after the OS was installed and wipe the free space using Disk Utility". After install I can not see where the "free space" would be?

Select the volume (Untitled) and go to the Erase tab. There will be a button labelled "Erase Free Space".



1956 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 19

Trusted
Subscriber

  Reply # 739598 3-Jan-2013 09:25 Send private message

Thanks, running that now.

Filter this topic showing only the reply marked as answer Create new topic




Twitter »
Follow us to receive Twitter updates when new discussions are posted in our forums:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when news items and blogs are posted in our frontpage:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when tech item prices are listed in our price comparison site:





Trending now »

Hot discussions in our forums right now:

Speed limit when overtaking? Teach me please.
Created by nakedmolerat, last reply by hio77 on 23-Oct-2014 23:34 (19 replies)
Pages... 2


$39 iPhone plan goneburger
Created by MadEngineer, last reply by MadEngineer on 23-Oct-2014 22:23 (17 replies)
Pages... 2


Spark Socialiser
Created by freitasm, last reply by freitasm on 22-Oct-2014 18:39 (34 replies)
Pages... 2 3


American legal jurisdiction in New Zealand
Created by ajobbins, last reply by gzt on 21-Oct-2014 14:58 (30 replies)
Pages... 2


iPad Air 2 and iPad Mini 3. Gonna get one?
Created by Dingbatt, last reply by Handle9 on 23-Oct-2014 21:53 (101 replies)
Pages... 5 6 7


Snap have failed our company!
Created by dafman, last reply by kornflake on 23-Oct-2014 17:41 (37 replies)
Pages... 2 3


Thief taunts 12 year old via stolen laptop
Created by macuser, last reply by charsleysa on 22-Oct-2014 23:49 (12 replies)

Another Trade Me competitor: SellShed
Created by freitasm, last reply by freitasm on 23-Oct-2014 19:00 (44 replies)
Pages... 2 3



Geekzone Live »

Try automatic live updates from Geekzone directly in your browser, without refreshing the page, with Geekzone Live now.

Are you subscribed to our RSS feed? You can download the latest headlines and summaries from our stories directly to your computer or smartphone by using a feed reader.

Alternatively, you can receive a daily email with Geekzone updates.