Handle9: Kirifis one was touch and go but it did look like his weight was on his right hand.
Savea was a clear yellow. He wasn't supporting his weight - he lost his feet and wasn't taking the weight of the maul which collapsed it. He can't get off his feet in that situation.
As a neutral observer I respectfully disagree.
Kirifi had already dislodged the ball with his right hand and then flicked it back with his left, so surely the ruck is over? The Blues player could have just as easily been penalised for wrapping his arms around the ball rather than placing it, thereby preventing Kirifi from getting the ball.
Savea didn’t collapse the maul, he was pulled down by a Blues player, in fact he landed on him. He had his hands on the ball while still supporting his body weight.
I think the assistant referee was wrong on both counts. I’ve wiped the recording now, but did the officials refer the penalty try and second yellow to the TMO?
No referral whatsover. To me that decision (Savea) changed the whole game.