Geekzone: technology news, blogs, forums
Guest
Welcome Guest.
You haven't logged in yet. If you don't have an account you can register now.


1493 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 191

Trusted

Topic # 96529 30-Jan-2012 10:35
Send private message

Just a bit of a grumble...

My wife has an auto renewing $19 pack which has been great value. Shes just got into geocaching and is starting to use more data on her phone.

What I was recently surprised about is that after her included 50mb was gone she was switched over to the casual data rate of 50c per mb and managed to chew through a $20 top up in a day or two.

After checking her phone (once I was asked why she had no data left and had no credit left) I see there was a message saying her 50mb was almost exhausted - which is also great.

However, what I didnt see was a message saying she had been swicthed over to a casual rate. Had we known that we wouldve bought a new data pack rather than chew through $20 very quickly.

So lesson learned this time  but pretty grumpy to have wasted $20.

Any chance you can add this warning to the text you already send?  

    

Create new topic
1626 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 275

Subscriber

  Reply # 574871 30-Jan-2012 11:13
Send private message

I agree that the added message would be helpful, but out of interest what did she think would happen when she ran out?



1493 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 191

Trusted

  Reply # 574881 30-Jan-2012 11:35
Send private message

itxtme: I agree that the added message would be helpful, but out of interest what did she think would happen when she ran out?


Well usually her data just stops - but there is more to it than that...

She is on the $19 pack with a $20 auto top up. So normally after the pack renews she has $1 left over which she uses for infrequent overseas texts. So generally once she has burnt through her data allowance she cant access the internet.

What happened this month is that for some reason two top ups went through - so $40 in total. Ive no idea why I got billed twice (thats another issue).

So anyway, having used all her (original) data she couldnt access the internet I assumed I could use the remainder of the top up money (ie $21) to buy another data pack but alas it had already been used up when it switched over to casual data.

So Im not blaiming anyone but a warning message that you are now on casual rates would've made me much happier than I am right now as I couldve simply bought a new data pack.


  

4648 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 2154

Trusted
Subscriber

  Reply # 574883 30-Jan-2012 11:44
Send private message

Detail in messages is only helpful when people read them. There are at least as many complaint threads here that boil down to 'I get too many messages so I ignore them and then Bad Thing X happened' as ones like this, I'm afraid.




iPad Air + iPhone SE + 2degrees 4tw!

These comments are my own and do not represent the opinions of 2degrees.


3290 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 209

Trusted

  Reply # 579708 10-Feb-2012 13:04
Send private message

Isn't there a way to disable casual data? So once the data pack runs out, no more internet? Or am I thinking about the broadband zone data packs or something?

I currently use the 50MB national pack and I'm going to switch to the $19 data combo, but currently I monitor my usage with an app. Obviously, currently the 50MB autorenews if I use it up, but the $19 data combo won't do that. I was hoping I'd be able to set things up so that once I've used the 300MB from the combo I can't use data unless I buy an extra data pack or something. Is this possible?

68 posts

Master Geek


  Reply # 579850 10-Feb-2012 16:25
Send private message

bazzer: Isn't there a way to disable casual data? So once the data pack runs out, no more internet? Or am I thinking about the broadband zone data packs or something?

I currently use the 50MB national pack and I'm going to switch to the $19 data combo, but currently I monitor my usage with an app. Obviously, currently the 50MB autorenews if I use it up, but the $19 data combo won't do that. I was hoping I'd be able to set things up so that once I've used the 300MB from the combo I can't use data unless I buy an extra data pack or something. Is this possible?


^^^ This - there needs to be a forum push to have this sort of customer control on our accounts!
I think this would also stop a lot fo the "my pack failed to renew and then used my money" threads + all the facebook complaints 

Create new topic

Twitter »

Follow us to receive Twitter updates when new discussions are posted in our forums:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when news items and blogs are posted in our frontpage:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when tech item prices are listed in our price comparison site:



Geekzone Live »

Try automatic live updates from Geekzone directly in your browser, without refreshing the page, with Geekzone Live now.



Are you subscribed to our RSS feed? You can download the latest headlines and summaries from our stories directly to your computer or smartphone by using a feed reader.

Alternatively, you can receive a daily email with Geekzone updates.