So I had the NEON free 6 month offer through 2 degrees, and while it was OK we didn't get enough use out of it to warrant continuing with it. But of course their cancellation page says "if you cancel with a promo code in place cancelling your subscription will also cancel the offer" - which I read as meaning if I cancel before the end of the 6 month promo, I lose the remaining time on the promo.
Of course this seems like a very convenient way of ensuring people will forget to cancel it on the last day of the promo and pay for another month... and of course I took the bait and did just that.
Except it worked in a slightly more sneaky way (IMO)....
My promo ended at the end of Feb, so I logged into NEON a couple of days after that to check the status and was greeted with a message saying something like "Your free subscription period has ended, please visit your account page to renew your subscription"
So I thought "OK, it looks like continuing the subscription is opt in - I'll leave it because I don't want to continue my subscription" (In hindsight though "HAHA, yeah right...")
Throughout the rest of March my wife\kids tried to log into NEON a couple of times and were greeted with the same message.
We all forget about NEON by the end of march, with me thinking that our subscription was over.... but of course, last day of march rolls around and boom, $20 charge on my credit card for NEON.
Yes, I know what a lot of you will say - I should have explicitly cancelled it, and you're right - but I also think this is a fairly sneaky way of doing it as it gives the impression that it's finished, but then it auto-renews when people have probably forgotten about it...