Geekzone: technology news, blogs, forums
Guest
Welcome Guest.
You haven't logged in yet. If you don't have an account you can register now.


82 posts

Master Geek
+1 received by user: 1


Topic # 154823 9-Nov-2014 11:04
Send private message

I have just upgraded to a newer iPhone and am getting ready to sell my 4S. For that I'm looking to do a complete reset. But because there's been so much controversy about iOS 8, I'd like the phone to restore to its current iOS 7.1.1 or the older one that came with the phone when I first purchased it (I can see from TradeMe posts this could be a beneficial selling point). How do I know which iOS the reset will pick up, or indeed if I can choose it? 

 

Cheers!

Create new topic
117 posts

Master Geek
+1 received by user: 14


  Reply # 1171599 9-Nov-2014 11:27
Send private message

Unfortunately this is one of the most painful issues with iOS products, the short answer is you can't restore through iTunes without upgrading to the latest software, as Apple have stopped signing OS versions older than 8 (which means iTunes won't allow you to restore using an older firmware).

Fortunately there is another option. On your iPhone go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings

This is the best way to clear the iPhone for selling without updating the firmware. After the reset the phone will show the initial setup screen, just like it had come out of the box. Then the person you've sold the phone to can decide whether to keep the current iOS version or update themselves.  

Just make sure you don't interrupt the resetting process. If you run out of power or reset your device before it is complete, you will see the Connect to iTunes screen after you connect to power again. If this happens you'll be forced to restore and update through iTunes.

There's no way to roll back the firmware to older versions of iOS though.



82 posts

Master Geek
+1 received by user: 1


  Reply # 1171601 9-Nov-2014 11:34
Send private message

Thanks for info. Does the above get rid of all sensitive data, and app data tied to the cleared apps? I read that for example Pandora uses unique device IDs or something meaning the next user would potentially see my stuff (not that it would be a problem with Pandora). Cheers

383 posts

Ultimate Geek
+1 received by user: 43

Trusted

  Reply # 1171606 9-Nov-2014 12:10
Send private message

Hi - I'm not aware of all the various app developers foibles, but would suggest signing out of everything you can on the iPhone first, before resetting. Very importantly you should sign out of iMessage & turn it off plus sign out of Find My iPhone if you have it activated.




Cheers,
Mike

Photographer/Videographer clickmedia.nz


Mad Scientist
19006 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 2469

Trusted
Lifetime subscriber

  Reply # 1171615 9-Nov-2014 12:30
Send private message

You can't reset to earlier os.



82 posts

Master Geek
+1 received by user: 1


  Reply # 1171680 9-Nov-2014 15:39
Send private message

Thanks all for your replies! cool

Create new topic

Twitter »

Follow us to receive Twitter updates when new discussions are posted in our forums:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when news items and blogs are posted in our frontpage:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when tech item prices are listed in our price comparison site:



Geekzone Live »

Try automatic live updates from Geekzone directly in your browser, without refreshing the page, with Geekzone Live now.



Are you subscribed to our RSS feed? You can download the latest headlines and summaries from our stories directly to your computer or smartphone by using a feed reader.

Alternatively, you can receive a daily email with Geekzone updates.