Geekzone: technology news, blogs, forums
Guest
Welcome Guest.
You haven't logged in yet. If you don't have an account you can register now.




126 posts

Master Geek
+1 received by user: 4


Topic # 204441 1-Oct-2016 17:46
Send private message

Have phone I want to sell, Have removed from icloud. Did an erase using the find my iphone feature. Is it complete all contacts, text, pictures, notes, songs etc erased?

 

Or is it like deleting stuff off a drive that just gets 'marked' as empty and the actual data remains?


Filter this topic showing only the reply marked as answer Create new topic
Mr Snotty
8074 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 4050

Moderator
Trusted
Lifetime subscriber

  Reply # 1643919 1-Oct-2016 18:13
Send private message

Honestly the only way to erase a phones flash memory completely is to cook it in the Microwave (don't do this - it'll destroy it) however your method is sufficient for most people. Please just make sure it is not iCloud locked.





3100 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 1570


  Reply # 1643941 1-Oct-2016 19:26
Send private message

You have to make sure it is deleted out of your 'find my iPhone' account.  Sign on to iCloud on a computer go into the find my iPhone app and use the drop down menu to select your devices, if it still shows there delete it, then do the factory restore again on the phone going through the settings menu.    That's about as good as it is going to get.  





Always be yourself, unless you can be Batman, then always be the Batman



 
 
 
 


455 posts

Ultimate Geek
+1 received by user: 128


  Reply # 1643968 1-Oct-2016 20:46
Send private message

The way I understand it works is that the iPhone encrypts all your data. When you erase it basically throws away the key. So yes the data is still there but it is unreadable.

2983 posts

Uber Geek
+1 received by user: 293


  Reply # 1643976 1-Oct-2016 21:42
One person supports this post
Send private message

Just use the erase all content and settings option under the settings on the iPhone itself.
That will prompt you for your Apple ID to remove it from your iCloud account, if Find my iPhone is still turned on.
That will reset it back to factory like a new device.




Filter this topic showing only the reply marked as answer Create new topic



Twitter »

Follow us to receive Twitter updates when new discussions are posted in our forums:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when news items and blogs are posted in our frontpage:



Follow us to receive Twitter updates when tech item prices are listed in our price comparison site:



Geekzone Live »

Try automatic live updates from Geekzone directly in your browser, without refreshing the page, with Geekzone Live now.



Are you subscribed to our RSS feed? You can download the latest headlines and summaries from our stories directly to your computer or smartphone by using a feed reader.

Alternatively, you can receive a daily email with Geekzone updates.