Geekzone: technology news, blogs, forums
Guest
Welcome Guest.
You haven't logged in yet. If you don't have an account you can register now.


chakkaradeep

799 posts

Ultimate Geek

Trusted

#21165 17-Apr-2008 17:21
Send private message

This year my residential college is testing their wireless setup. When I connect to their network, sometimes Vista shows the network status like this,



Why does it show like I am connected to two networks, eventhough I am not Undecided




Regards,
Chaks

Desktop : Intel Quad Core Q9400 2.66GHz - 8GB RAM - 500 GB + 500 GB HDD - NVidia GeForce 9800GT - LG246WH Flatron Display - Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise with Hyper-V
Virtual Machine : Powered by Hyper-V and VMWare Workstation
Laptop: HP dv7-3004TX Entertainment Notebook PC | HP Touchsmart tx2 1119au - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Mac: iMac 21.5" Snow Leopard
Mobile : iPhone 3GS

Create new topic
ashtonaut
361 posts

Ultimate Geek


  #125070 20-Apr-2008 13:55
Send private message

Hi,

I have no idea what causes this, but I had a similar thing happen with wired network connections - Vista showed I was connected to two networks when I was only connected to one. I got rid of the annoyance by merging the network connections - courtesy of Google:


1. Click the Start button, right-click Network, choose Properties from the context menu, and then authenticate yourself to User Account Control. Windows displays a Network and Sharing Center window.

2. In the main part of the window, click the Customize link next to the listing for your main network connection. Windows displays the Customize Network Settings window.

3. Click the Merge or Delete Network Locations link near the bottom of the window, and then authenticate yourself to User Account Control. Windows displays the Merge or Delete Network Locations dialog box .

4. Select the networks you want to merge, and then click the Merge button. Windows displays the Merge Network Locations dialog box, shown here.

5. In the list box, select the network into which you want to merge the network locations- in other words, the network that you want to have once the merge is complete.

6. Click the OK button. Windows merges the networks.



Ash

Create new topic





News »

Nanoleaf enhances lighting line with launch of Triangles and Mini Triangles
Posted 17-Oct-2020 20:18


Synology unveils DS16211+
Posted 17-Oct-2020 20:12


Ingram Micro introduces FootfallCam to New Zealand channel
Posted 17-Oct-2020 20:06


Dropbox adopts Virtual First working policy
Posted 17-Oct-2020 19:47


OPPO announces Reno4 Series 5G line-up in NZ
Posted 16-Oct-2020 08:52


Microsoft Highway to a Hundred expands to Asia Pacific
Posted 14-Oct-2020 09:34


Spark turns on 5G in Auckland
Posted 14-Oct-2020 09:29


AMD Launches AMD Ryzen 5000 Series Desktop Processors
Posted 9-Oct-2020 10:13


Teletrac Navman launches integrated multi-camera solution for transport and logistics industry
Posted 8-Oct-2020 10:57


Farmside hits 10,000 RBI customers
Posted 7-Oct-2020 15:32


NordVPN starts deploying colocated servers
Posted 7-Oct-2020 09:00


Google introduces Nest Wifi routers in New Zealand
Posted 7-Oct-2020 05:00


Orcon to bundle Google Nest Wifi router with new accounts
Posted 7-Oct-2020 05:00


Epay and Centrapay partner to create digital gift cards
Posted 2-Oct-2020 17:34


Inseego launches 5G MiFi M2000 mobile hotspot
Posted 2-Oct-2020 14:53



Geekzone Live »

Try automatic live updates from Geekzone directly in your browser, without refreshing the page, with Geekzone Live now.


Support Geekzone »

Our community of supporters help make Geekzone possible. Click the button below to join them.

Support Geezone on PressPatron



Are you subscribed to our RSS feed? You can download the latest headlines and summaries from our stories directly to your computer or smartphone by using a feed reader.

Alternatively, you can receive a daily email with Geekzone updates.